Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The VCAT Board of Directors is comprised of persons who closely represent the racial, ethic, geographic, social, and economic diversity of the City of Vallejo.

The board consists of eleven voting members, and includes 3 Designated Directors from the following entities, Vallejo Unified School District, the City of Vallejo, and Solano Community College.

The Board of Directors meet the second Monday of the month at 6:00PM at the VCAT Office: Jesse Bethel High School 1800 Ascot Parkway Vallejo Rm. H100


Rev. Dr. Tony Ubalde

Rev. Dr. Tony Ubalde, Chair

Rev. Dr. Tony Ubalde is a long time Vallejo resident and a retired clergyman. He currently serves as a Chaplain to the Vallejo Police Department and is also the Vice President of the Vallejo City Unified School District. Rev. Dr. Ubalde has held numerous leadership positions within the Vallejo Community and is a past member of the Solano Community College Board of Trustees. Rev. Dr. Ubalde has been a member of the VCAT Board of Directors since May of 2005.


Maria Bitagon, Vice Chair


-9 Maurice Carter

Maurice Carter, Secretary


Clarissa Aveytia

Clarissa Aveytia, Treasurer

Clarissa Jacildo-Aveytia was born and raised in Vallejo, CA, graduated from Vallejo High School, and has always had the desire to do something positive for her community. She has been working at Genesis House, Inc. since 1994 and has on occasion volunteered for the Christian Help Center. She is one of the newer board members having joined VCAT in the beginning part of 2012.


Jerry Kea

Jerry Kea, Designated by Solano Community College

Jerry Kea is the Dean of Solano College at the Vallejo Campus. He is the Founder/Director of Hallmark Opportunities for Progressive Education (H.O.P.E) in Sebastopol, CA, a non-profit whose mission is to provide a range of support services/ministries to reform-minded schools throughout the U.S. Jerry has worked with other non-profits throughout his carreer along with VCAT and has spent many years as a teacher/principal in schools throughout California and the U.S. He currently sits on several committees in Vallejo.


Sabreen Freeman

Sabreen Freeman, Board Member


Judge Dan Healy

Judge Dan Healy, Board Member


Linda Kingston, Board Member


Thelma Welch, Board Member


Kristofer Johnson, Board Member


Cheribum Speaks, Board Member


Download and learn more about:

VCAT Bylaws

Board of Directors’ Roles and Responsibilities

Petition for Nomination

A Petition for Nomination to the Board of Directors must be signed by 10 members in good standing to be on the ballot for the Board of Directors election.