Meet Our 2014 – 2015 Board of Directors!


The VCAT Board of Directors is comprised of persons who closely represent the racial, ethic, geographic, social, and economic diversity of the City of Vallejo. The board consists of thirteen voting members.

The Board of Directors meet the second Monday of each month at 6:00PM at the VCAT Office: Jesse Bethel High School 1800 Ascot Parkway Vallejo Rm. H100.  The public is invited to attend.


Rev. Dr. Tony Ubalde, Chair

Rev. Dr. Tony Ubalde is a long time Vallejo resident and a retired clergyman. He currently serves as a Chaplain to the Vallejo Police Department and is also the Vice President of the Vallejo City Unified School District. Rev. Dr. Ubalde has held numerous leadership positions within the Vallejo Community and is a past member of the Solano Community College Board of Trustees. Rev. Dr. Ubalde has been a member of the VCAT Board of Directors since May of 2005.


Maria Bitagon, Vice Chair


Su Blakely, Secretary


Thelma Welch, Treasurer


Jerry Kea, Board Member

Jerry Kea is the Dean of Solano College at the Vallejo Campus. He is the Founder/Director of Hallmark Opportunities for Progressive Education (H.O.P.E) in Sebastopol, CA, a non-profit whose mission is to provide a range of support services/ministries to reform-minded schools throughout the U.S. Jerry has worked with other non-profits throughout his career along with VCAT and has spent many years as a teacher/principal in schools throughout California and the U.S. He currently sits on several committees in Vallejo.


Judge Dan Healy, Board Member


Julie Ann Talbo, Board Member


Cherubim Speaks, Board Member


Robert Rothgery, Board Member


Peggy Cohen-Thompson, Board Member


Thia Markson, Board Member


Mustafa Abdul-Ghanee, Board Member


Linda Kingston,  Board Member


Download and learn more about:

VCAT Bylaws

Board of Directors’ Roles and Responsibilities

Petition for Nomination

A Petition for Nomination to the Board of Directors must be signed by 10 members in good standing to be on the ballot for the Board of Directors election.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *